Getting off on the right foot

We teach A-levels using two teachers per class. The scheme of work published by AQA, along with others that I’ve found, all assume one teacher: I’ve had to divide the topics so they work logically with two parallel teachers. The teaching programme is therefore split into two sides.

One of my biggest aims for the early weeks is to give our pupils the terminology needed to talk about ‘money’ in all its different forms, even though they won’t be studying finance and profitability until at least week 5 of the course. This is something that I’ve done with my own classes in the past, but it’s time to formalise this across the whole department. I’m planning to start one of the sides off with a project about setting up a business, identifying clearly the difference between revenue, costs, capital and profit. I reckon that something practical will help to give concrete examples and help develop pupils’ understanding. I’m considering using Tycoon in Schools, or something similar, but am happy to write my own if there’s nothing suitable out there – let’s see how much time exists over the summer holidays!

Leave a Reply

