The visualiser…

…is brilliant! I set it up on Tuesday, and have already used it with three different classes. As I predicted, it’s been really useful for showing the Y13 how annotations help with BUSS3 case-studies, but I’ve also used it with Y11 as part of the preparation for their controlled assessment. One of the areas where GCSE pupils have struggled in the past is writing explicitly about the findings from their market research – far too much vague waffle, rather than specific, numerical analysis. I got my Y11 to choose a graph, and then write a “perfect sentence” to start their analysis. I then put various pupils’ work under the visualiser, discussed it and developed it, and then I got them to extend the sentence into a paragraph. I think there are a lot more ways of using it, so I’m keen to know what others do.

Leave a Reply

