DfE consultation on GCSE Business

Way back in the summer holidays, I got an email asking me to respond to a DofE consultation on the new GCSE subject content. It’s been sitting lurking in my inbox ever since,getting closer and closer to the deadline of 24th September. Being a last-minute merchant, I’ve ignored its nagging until now, but I’ve finally sat down and done it.

The consultation page is here if anyone wants a go too – with the subject content here.

Interesting things I noted:

  • The list of quantitative skills includes calculating Average Rate of Return. I normally do ARR with the Y13, so that will be an interesting addition
  • The document refers to Net Profit, whereas a lot of the company accounts I’ve looked at recently don’t use this term. Given that the A-level course is using Operating Profit and Profit For The Year, it would be good to have some consistency (not least for the pupils who have to learn new terminology from one course to the next!)
  • It’s going to be assessed through 100% examination. There will need to be a lot more focus on quant skills in lessons so that they can do the data manipulation and interpretation in exam conditions. This does concern me, as number-crunching inevitably takes valuable time in exams, but I don’t know where the solution lies. Thank goodness I’m not an examiner!
Leave a Reply

